What is the Actual Cost of a Workplace Injury?
No matter what size the business, the associated costs of just one burn or cut injury are daunting. A successful foodservice operation is like a well-oiled machine. All parts must be working and moving in-sync for everything to come together.
Every day, foodservice operators rely on a group of employees to perform a variety of tasks in a high-pressure environment where urgency and precision are paramount to keep everything running smoothly – which also increases the potential for work related injuries. As a foodservice operator, you know that your team is your company’s lifeblood. Without them, nothing will get done!
Tucker makes it easy for you to assess the true impact of occupational injuries on your profitability, but more importantly, calculate the additional sales required to offset the cost. Our cost calculator uses your profit margin, the average costs of an injury or illness, and an indirect cost multiplier based on OSHA formulas to project the amount of NEW sales you will need to generate to cover injury costs. It is tempting to think of a burn or cut injury as just an injured employee, but it’s impact is actually much larger.
You will find that the cost of just one workplace injury can be shockingly high! The calculator is intended as a tool to raise awareness of how work related injuries can impact your profitability, not to provide a detailed analysis of your occupational injury costs.
CALCULATE PROFITABILITY IMPACT
Enter Direct Costs
Direct costs are typically costs of all insurance claims, Worker’s Compensation payments, and legal services for any work-related injury or illness.
Sum of all insurance claims
Determine Indirect Costs
Indirect costs are those needed to cover the costs of investigating accidents, repairing damaged equipment and property, lost productivity, additional training, etc. OSHA developed a formula to estimate indirect costs that is based on a company’s direct costs. Multiply sum of all direct costs by cost multiplier in table below.
|If Direct Costs are:||Cost Multiplier is:|
|$0 – $2,999||4.5|
|$3,000 – $4,999||1.6|
|$5,000 – $9,999||1.2|
Indirect Costs (IDC) = (DC) x (CM)
Direct and Indirect Costs Combined
Enter Profit Margin
Profit Margin is net profit divided by total sales. For example, if items sold generated $50 but cost $45 to make, the net profit is $5. Profit margin is then calculated by dividing $5 by $50, which is 10%. Smaller companies that are rapidly growing, average 10% or 20% profit margins. The average profit margin for restaurants, associations, and government agencies averages 5%.
Total Net Profits / Total Sales
Total Profitability Impact
Divide Total Cost (TC) of injury by Profit Margin (PM). This result represents the sales required to pay for the occupational injury or illness. Simply stated, this is the amount of NEW sales needed to maintain the current profit margin.
Additional Sales Needed to Maintain Profit Margin (TC) / (PM)